14.01.2021

Disruption in the Southeastern Europe Power Transmission System

IPTO took the appropriate actions and restored the parallel operation of the Systems.

IPTO announces that on January 8th, 2021, at 15:05 Greece local time (14:05 CET), a disruption was recorded in the System of Southeastern Europe (SEE), outside the Greek System, resulting in the separation of the region's Transmission Systems from the rest of the Continental Europe Synchronous Area. The electricity current frequencies in the two divided systems balanced immediately after the incident in Central Europe at approximately 49.7 Hz and in Southeastern Europe at approximately 50.3 Hz.

IPTO, in cooperation with the neighboring Operators, took the appropriate actions and restored the parallel operation of the Systems within one hour (i.e. at 16:05 Greece time or 15:05 CET).

The effects of the incident on the Greek System are related to the aforementioned hyperfrequency and led to a redistribution of power generation by the System Units and changes in power flows on the country's interconnection lines. The causes of the disruption are being investigated while the operation of the Greek Transmission System's operation is safeguarded